define:atheist

March 30, 2010 at 4:04 am (Fróðleikr) (, , , , , , )

Atheist: A person who does not believe in the existence of a deity or deities.

Agnostic: A person who does not claim to know whether or not at least one deity exists.

I am, by this definition, an agnostic atheist, if we take the sceptical definition of the word “to know”. To my mind, there is a higher probability of the existence of Russell’s teapot than, for example, the Christian God. However, I cannot declare that probability to be exactly zero.

Let’s make up a new word:

Desiderodeist: One who wishes for the existence of a deity or deities.

By these definitions, I am an agnostic atheist and desiderodeist. I think it would be a beautiful thing if the world were governed by a pantheon of gods. If I were offered evidence of such a thing I would be delighted. However, there is nothing I can force myself to believe in, and therefore an atheist I shall remain.

Atheists are much maligned, in my opinion, by the idea that anyone who does not believe in a deity is also by definition not an agnostic.

1 Comment

  1. RadWind said,

    Do ghost phenomena happens? Lets use a atheistic way to explain the mysterious phenomena happens around me and could be proved repeatedly. Investigate it you will be rewarded abundantly.
    radwind.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

