Questioning evolution

June 11, 2008 at 6:31 pm (Fróðleikr) (, , , , , , )

This is not a topic I would usually dignify with a post. I’d usually sum up the debate by posting a witty video from my beloved YouTube nova intelligentsia, like this one by cdk007:

However, I stumbled across a recent debate between Dr. PZ Myers and Dr. Geoffrey Simmons that I thought nicely illustrates the gap in scientific understanding between a real biologist and a doubter of evolution.

There isn’t only a gap in scientific understanding but also a gap in self-knowledge exhibited by these two camps. It takes a particular sort of arrogance to assume that because one does not understand a theory, that makes the theory false. Biology students would not get away speaking to Dr. Myers the way Dr. Simmons challenges him. It is insulting that anyone would step into the scientific arena, stake out a private little area, and declare it free from mainstream science. I might as well deny Pythagoras’ theorem and by political influence force a mathematician to debate its validity.

2 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    Kate, check out servemebest.com. It’s very bare bones @ the moment, but that’s the beginnings of the project I’m working on. I’ll have more information on it later, but basically I’m looking for contributors, with extensive experience with e-commerce, either from an employee end or from a purchasing end, to contribute reviews and articles. It does not need to be a consistent contribution and until the site starts paying returns, there’s no money involved, although I already have a system for how that’d pay out. E-mail me for more info.

  2. ataxas said,

    Andrew: I copied your note; I like the site a lot. I’ll email you in a bit for details. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

